Google Translate new update adds offline translation for more Indian languages 

Google has just updated the company’s Translate app for Android with more features and languages included. Until now, the Google translate was available for transliteration from and to almost every language in the universe, even if some of them were not much mature enough.

Apart from the Online translation over the internet, the Google Translate app has also provided the translation using your mobile camera by capturing any image to translate into supported languages, or even by live camera translation. Users are able to download the language pack over Wi-Fi to translate later without the internet. Until this time, these features were made available for only 27 languages worldwide, enlisted as: Bulgarian, Catalan, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Filipino, Finnish, French, German, Hindi, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Lithuanian, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Slovak, Spanish, Swedish, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian and four more.

Now with a new update, the translation technology which accompanies Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning adds the support to 7 more Indian languages –  Tamil, Telugu, Kannada, Gujarati, Urdu, Marathi and Bengali. Now, the total number of languages which are supported by the both Google Translate Offline and Visual counts to 38 in total. The offline translate itself supports 59 languages currently.

You can update the Google Translate from Play Store and can download the preferred language packs for offline translation if available for your mother tongue, using Wi-Fi.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.